Choose dates to view prices

Solitaire Lodge

Photo gallery for Solitaire Lodge

Exterior
Outdoor pool, pool umbrellas, sun loungers
Single /Double / Twin Room  | Desk, rollaway beds
Single /Double / Twin Room  | Desk, rollaway beds
Single /Double / Twin Room  | Bathroom | Shower, free toiletries

Overview of Solitaire Lodge

Solitaire Lodge

2.5 star property
Solitaire lodge with 2 restaurants and outdoor pool

7,2/10 Good

19 verified Hotels.com guest reviews

Property highlights

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Air conditioning
  • Bar
The price is R2 690
Price available on 2022/12/05
Map
On the C14, Namib Naukluft Park, Solitaire

Room options

About this property

Solitaire Lodge

Enjoy your visit to Solitaire with a stay at Solitaire Lodge. After splashing around at the outdoor pool, you can grab a bite to eat at one of the 2 restaurants or unwind with a drink at the bar/lounge. Other features include a terrace and a garden.

Languages

Afrikaans, English

Cleaning and safety practices

Enhanced cleanliness measures

Disinfectant is used to clean the property
High-touch surfaces are cleaned and disinfected
Sheets and towels are washed at 60°C/140°F or hotter
Follows industry cleaning and disinfection practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC)

Social distancing

Contactless check-out
Cashless transactions are available for all charges at the property
This information is provided by our partners.

At a glance

Hotel size

  • 25 rooms
  • Arranged over 1 level

Arriving/Leaving

  • Check-in time from 1 PM - 8 PM
  • Minimum check-in age - 18
  • Check-out time is 10 AM

Restrictions related to your trip

  • Check COVID-19 restrictions

Special check-in instructions

  • Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival

Required at check-in

  • Credit card, debit card, or cash deposit required for incidental charges
  • Government-issued photo ID may be required
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Children

  • No cribs (infant beds)

Pets

  • Pets not allowed
  • Service animals welcome

Internet

  • Free WiFi in public areas

Parking

  • Free onsite self parking
  • Onsite RV/bus/truck parking (fees apply)

Other information

  • Designated smoking areas

Property amenities

Food and drink

  • Free English breakfast each morning 7:00 AM–10:00 AM
  • 2 restaurants
  • Bar/lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Barbecue grills

What to do

  • Hiking/biking trails
  • Wildlife and game drive

Services

  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • Luggage storage
  • Bicycle rentals
  • Pool loungers
  • Pool umbrellas

Facilities

  • 4 buildings/towers
  • Built in 2000
  • ATM/banking
  • Garden
  • Picnic area
  • Terrace
  • An outdoor pool

Languages

  • Afrikaans
  • English

Room amenities

Home comfort

  • Air conditioning

Sleep well

  • Rollaway/extra bed (surcharge)

Freshen up

  • Private bathroom
  • Shower only
  • Free toiletries

Stay connected

  • Desk

More

  • Daily housekeeping
  • Access via exterior corridors

Fees & policies

Children & extra beds

  • Rollaway beds are available for NAD 935 per night

Hygiene & cleanliness

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.

Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.

Cashless payment methods are available for all transactions.

Contactless check-out is available.

This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC).

Policies

Only registered guests are allowed in the guestrooms.

This property accepts credit cards.

Also known as

Solitaire Country Lodge
Solitaire Country Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park
Solitaire Namibia Lodge
Solitaire Lodge Lodge
Solitaire Lodge Solitaire
Solitaire Lodge Lodge Solitaire

Frequently asked questions

Does Solitaire Lodge offer free cancellation for a full refund?
Yes, Solitaire Lodge does have fully refundable room rates available to book on our site. If you’ve booked a fully refundable room rate, this can be cancelled up to a few days before check-in depending on the property's cancellation policy. Just make sure to check this property's cancellation policy for the exact terms and conditions.
How much does it cost to stay at Solitaire Lodge?
As of 04 December 2022, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Solitaire Lodge on 05 December 2022 start from R2 690, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
What are the cleanliness and hygiene measures currently in place at Solitaire Lodge?
This property confirms that disinfectant is used to clean the property. Please note that this information has been provided by our partners.
Is there a pool at Solitaire Lodge?
Yes, there's an outdoor pool.
Are pets allowed at Solitaire Lodge?
Sorry, pets aren't allowed, but service animals are welcome.
Is parking offered on site at Solitaire Lodge?
Yes, there's free self parking. RV/bus/truck parking is available.
What are the check-in and check-out times at Solitaire Lodge?
You can check in from 1 PM - 8 PM. Check-out time is 10 AM. Contactless check-out is available.
What is there to do at Solitaire Lodge and nearby?
Have fun during the warmer months with activities such as hiking. Additional recreation onsite includes game viewing and a wildlife and game drive. Enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool or use the lodge's other amenities, which include a picnic area and a garden.
Are there restaurants at or near Solitaire Lodge?
Yes, there are 2 onsite restaurants.

Overall score and ratings

7,2

Good

8,0/10

Cleanliness

7,1/10

Staff & service

8,0/10

Amenities

7,1/10

Property conditions & facilities

10,0/10

Eco-friendliness

10/10 Exceptional

Great place. Highly recommended.
Only stayed for one night. Good accommodation and tasty food.
Katherine, 1-night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review

6/10 Good

This was the poorest of the lodges we stayed in during our trip to Namibia, however it was by far the least expensive. The food was very poor.
1-night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review

10/10 Exceptional

What I liked that was unique about this property is just that; how truly unique it is. Out in the literal middle of nowhere, it is an oasis in an otherwise forbidding *deep, dark night. There is food, there is water, beer, liquor...sticky buns! Something to truly experience. *Don't drive in the desert at night, very dangerous. Animals like to cross the road, and they will sneak up on you, like the Zebra I almost ran into.
1-night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review

4/10 Fair

Drastically lower you expectations
Very bad attitude by the staff. Breakfast was terrible including very old and stale looking scrambled eggs, asked for some freshly cooked eggs and I was told that it was buffet and I must eat what was provided. Also asked to eat on an outside table and the waiter told us to set it ourselves. Accommodation was also bad, no towel rails, shelves or hooks in the bathroom, no cupboards in the bedroom and no hangers etc in the bedroom. Wifi did not work for the entire two days that we stayed at the lodge. Went for a walk on the marked hiking trail and discovered the stench of raw sewerage as we left the lodge, also encountered loads of litter in the bush on the hiking trail.
2-night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review

10/10 Exceptional

Verified Hotels.com guest review

4/10 Fair

Poor management, good staff.
While unpacking, a lady came and insisted that we move the vehicle back to the parking area immediately. We were not allowed to complete our unpacking. There was nothing extraordinary about the parking space outside our rooms to where I had temporarily moved our vehicle, just sand. No help was offered with our luggage and we had to drag our bags through the loose sand, making numerous trips. I assumed she was the manager- no introductions were made. Since we were leaving early for Sesriem the next morning, breakfast packs were prepared for us. The nutri-bar in all 4 of our packs had expired 30 days earlier and had to be discarded. At the time of booking no mention was made of the pool being under renovation. In 30 degree temperatures we were offered the use of a pool 7km away! We found both the hand basin and showers dirty in both rooms. We cleaned these ourselves realising that we could expect no help from the manageress. The friendly restaurant staff and the lovely food prepared by the chef encouraged us to overlook the thus-far dismal attitude of the manageress and enquired about staying a further night. The unfortunate reply from the manageress was that there were 2 rooms available for further nights but that we had to pay a much higher rate as we had obtained a good rate by booking via Hotels.com, but right here, in person, that rate was not available to us. I could only assume that we were not welcome at this hotel by the manageress. Very disappointing.
Verified Hotels.com guest review

6/10 Good

Service stinks
This place is in the middle of nowhere, next to s fuel stop and bakery and restaurant. The bakery is awesome, the hotel lacked is many areas of service. Reception was completely unmotivated to help, I showed myself to the room and then went for dinner. This was a joke, they didn't acknowledge me even when I stood at the bar, then they sat me at the bar for the buffet despite several seats. The chick behind the bar couldn't pull herseld away from her phone to even serve me and she was 1 meter away. I had to get the waiter. She was useless. The wifi is awful, meaning it doesn't work, so don't believe the "high speed xonnection" listed on the advert, it's nonexistent. Staff were extremely unhelpful in this matter also. I was even told to stand in the fuel station to get the signal. Comfy rooms, but I would opt for staff who make an effort
Verified Hotels.com guest review

8/10 Very good

en plein désert, loin de tout, mais très bon rapport qualité/prix, personnel serviable professionnel et très aimable, je recommande. Attention, la route entre Solitaire et Sesriem est pénible, même en 4x4, nous avons renoncé à la faire de nouveau le deuxième jour et nous avons perdu une journée de vacances.
Hugues, 3-night trip
Verified Expedia guest review

8/10 Very good

Good hotel if you don’t get a room in Sesriem
Good hotel if you don’t get a room in Sesriem; you can drive in the morning to Sossusvlei and come back in the evening to Solitaire
Eberhard, 2-night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review

8/10 Very good

Redelijk goed.
Was wel goed maar geen WiFi.
Cor, 1-night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review