Solitaire Lodge

2.5 star property
Solitaire lodge with 2 restaurants and outdoor pool

Choose dates to view prices

Solitaire Lodge

Photo gallery for Solitaire Lodge

Desk, laptop workspace, bed sheets
Food court
Interior entrance

Overview of Solitaire Lodge



Property highlights

  • Free breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free parking
  • Free WiFi
  • Air conditioning
  • Laundry facilities
On the C14, Namib Naukluft Park, Solitaire
Main amenities
  • Daily housekeeping
  • 2 restaurants and bar/lounge
  • Outdoor pool
  • Coffee shop/cafe
  • Terrace
  • Air conditioning
  • Garden
  • Front-desk safe
  • ATM/banking services
  • Laundry service
  • Self-serve laundry
  • Picnic area
Feel at home
  • Private bathroom
  • Garden
  • Terrace
  • Daily housekeeping
  • Laundry facilities
  • Barbecue grill(s)

Room options

Family Room

  • 24 sq m
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Double Beds and 2 Twin Beds

Single /Double / Twin Room

  • 24 sq m
  • Sleeps 2
  • 2 Double Beds

About this area

Getting around

  • Windhoek (ERS-Eros) - 112.4 miles/180.9 km


  • Cafe Van Der Lee - 1 min walk
  • Moose McGregor's Desert Bakery - 1 min walk

About this property

Solitaire Lodge

Enjoy your visit to Solitaire with a stay at Solitaire Lodge. After splashing around at the outdoor pool, you can grab a bite to eat at one of the 2 restaurants or unwind with a drink at the bar/lounge. Other features include a terrace and a garden.


Afrikaans, English


Sustainability practices

Bicycle rentals
This information is provided by our partners.

Cleaning and safety practices

Enhanced cleanliness measures

Disinfectant is used to clean the property
High-touch surfaces are cleaned and disinfected
Sheets and towels are washed at 60°C/140°F or hotter
Follows industry cleaning and disinfection practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC)

Social distancing

Contactless check-out
Cashless transactions are available for all charges at the property
This information is provided by our partners.

At a glance

Hotel size

  • 25 rooms
  • Arranged over 1 level


  • Check-in time from 1 PM - 8 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Check-out time is 10 AM

Restrictions related to your trip

  • Check COVID-19 restrictions

Special check-in instructions

  • Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival

Required at check-in

  • Credit card, debit card, or cash deposit required for incidental charges
  • Government-issued photo ID may be required
  • Minimum check-in age is 18


  • Pets not allowed
  • Service animals welcome


  • Free WiFi in public areas


  • Free onsite self parking
  • Onsite RV/bus/truck parking (fees apply)

Other information

  • Designated smoking areas

Property amenities

Food and drink

  • Free English breakfast each morning 7:00 AM–10:00 AM
  • 2 restaurants
  • Bar/lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Barbecue grills

What to do

  • Hiking/biking trails
  • Wildlife and game drive
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby


  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • Luggage storage
  • Bicycle rentals
  • Pool loungers
  • Pool umbrellas


  • 4 buildings/towers
  • Built in 2000
  • ATM/banking
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk
  • Garden
  • Picnic area
  • Terrace
  • An outdoor pool

Room amenities

Home comfort

  • Air conditioning
  • Electric kettle

Sleep well

  • Bed sheets provided

Freshen up

  • Private bathroom
  • Shower only
  • Soap
  • Towels
  • Toilet paper

Stay connected

  • Desk

Food and drink

  • Free tea bags/instant coffee


  • Daily housekeeping
  • Access via exterior corridors

Fees & policies

Hygiene & cleanliness

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.

Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.

Cashless payment methods are available for all transactions.

Contactless check-out is available.

This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC).


Only registered guests are allowed in the guestrooms.
This property accepts credit cards.

Also known as

Solitaire Country Lodge
Solitaire Country Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park
Solitaire Namibia Lodge
Solitaire Lodge Lodge
Solitaire Lodge Solitaire
Solitaire Lodge Lodge Solitaire

Frequently asked questions

Does Solitaire Lodge offer free cancellation for a full refund?
Yes, Solitaire Lodge does have fully refundable room rates available to book on our site. If you’ve booked a fully refundable room rate, this can be cancelled up to a few days before check-in depending on the property's cancellation policy. Just make sure to check this property's cancellation policy for the exact terms and conditions.
What are the cleanliness and hygiene measures currently in place at Solitaire Lodge?
This property confirms that disinfectant is used to clean the property. Please note that this information has been provided by our partners.
Is there a pool at Solitaire Lodge?
Yes, there's an outdoor pool.
Are pets allowed at Solitaire Lodge?
Sorry, pets aren't allowed, but service animals are welcome.
Is parking offered on site at Solitaire Lodge?
Yes, there's free self parking. RV/bus/truck parking is available.
What are the check-in and check-out times at Solitaire Lodge?
You can check in from 1 PM - 8 PM. Check-out time is 10 AM. Contactless check-out is available.
What is there to do at Solitaire Lodge and nearby?
Have fun during the warmer months with activities such as hiking. Additional recreation onsite includes game viewing and a wildlife and game drive. Enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool or use the lodge's other amenities, which include a picnic area and a garden.
Are there restaurants at or near Solitaire Lodge?
Yes, there are 2 onsite restaurants.







Staff & service




Property conditions & facilities




10/10 Exceptional

Great place. Highly recommended.
Only stayed for one night. Good accommodation and tasty food.
Katherine, 1-night trip
Verified guest review

6/10 Good

This was the poorest of the lodges we stayed in during our trip to Namibia, however it was by far the least expensive. The food was very poor.
1-night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review

10/10 Exceptional

What I liked that was unique about this property is just that; how truly unique it is. Out in the literal middle of nowhere, it is an oasis in an otherwise forbidding *deep, dark night. There is food, there is water, beer, liquor...sticky buns! Something to truly experience. *Don't drive in the desert at night, very dangerous. Animals like to cross the road, and they will sneak up on you, like the Zebra I almost ran into.
1-night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review

4/10 Fair

Drastically lower you expectations
Very bad attitude by the staff. Breakfast was terrible including very old and stale looking scrambled eggs, asked for some freshly cooked eggs and I was told that it was buffet and I must eat what was provided. Also asked to eat on an outside table and the waiter told us to set it ourselves. Accommodation was also bad, no towel rails, shelves or hooks in the bathroom, no cupboards in the bedroom and no hangers etc in the bedroom. Wifi did not work for the entire two days that we stayed at the lodge. Went for a walk on the marked hiking trail and discovered the stench of raw sewerage as we left the lodge, also encountered loads of litter in the bush on the hiking trail.
2-night romance trip
Verified guest review

10/10 Exceptional

Verified guest review

4/10 Fair

Poor management, good staff.
While unpacking, a lady came and insisted that we move the vehicle back to the parking area immediately. We were not allowed to complete our unpacking. There was nothing extraordinary about the parking space outside our rooms to where I had temporarily moved our vehicle, just sand. No help was offered with our luggage and we had to drag our bags through the loose sand, making numerous trips. I assumed she was the manager- no introductions were made. Since we were leaving early for Sesriem the next morning, breakfast packs were prepared for us. The nutri-bar in all 4 of our packs had expired 30 days earlier and had to be discarded. At the time of booking no mention was made of the pool being under renovation. In 30 degree temperatures we were offered the use of a pool 7km away! We found both the hand basin and showers dirty in both rooms. We cleaned these ourselves realising that we could expect no help from the manageress. The friendly restaurant staff and the lovely food prepared by the chef encouraged us to overlook the thus-far dismal attitude of the manageress and enquired about staying a further night. The unfortunate reply from the manageress was that there were 2 rooms available for further nights but that we had to pay a much higher rate as we had obtained a good rate by booking via, but right here, in person, that rate was not available to us. I could only assume that we were not welcome at this hotel by the manageress. Very disappointing.
Verified guest review

6/10 Good

Service stinks
This place is in the middle of nowhere, next to s fuel stop and bakery and restaurant. The bakery is awesome, the hotel lacked is many areas of service. Reception was completely unmotivated to help, I showed myself to the room and then went for dinner. This was a joke, they didn't acknowledge me even when I stood at the bar, then they sat me at the bar for the buffet despite several seats. The chick behind the bar couldn't pull herseld away from her phone to even serve me and she was 1 meter away. I had to get the waiter. She was useless. The wifi is awful, meaning it doesn't work, so don't believe the "high speed xonnection" listed on the advert, it's nonexistent. Staff were extremely unhelpful in this matter also. I was even told to stand in the fuel station to get the signal. Comfy rooms, but I would opt for staff who make an effort
Verified guest review

10/10 Exceptional

Andrea, 1-night trip
Verified Expedia guest review

10/10 Exceptional

Perfekt für den Stopp nach walvisbay
Große Zimmer, bequeme Betten, abends hat man die Oldtimer und den Sternenhimmel für sich allein
Kathrin, 1-night trip
Verified guest review

8/10 Very good

Essen keine Auswahl
Wolfgang, 1-night romance trip
Verified Ebookers guest review