Guests
All properties in St. Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Lodge Afrique

St. Lucia upscale guesthouse with outdoor pool

  • Free full breakfast, free WiFi, and free parking
From
ZAR 2,200

Restrictions related to your trip

This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Image gallery

  • Luxury Double Room - Outdoor Pool
  • Luxury Double Room - Outdoor Pool
  • Beach
  • Beach
  • Luxury Double Room - Outdoor Pool
Luxury Double Room - Outdoor Pool. Image 1 of 60.
1 / 60Luxury Double Room - Outdoor Pool
71 Hornbill Street, St. Lucia, 3936, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
9,4.Exceptional.
  • The ambience of the Lodge was magnificent. The rooms and surroundings are tastefully…

    Nov 16, 2019

  • Beautiful little hideaway - convenient and quiet!

    Oct 24, 2019

See all 22 reviews

Enhanced health and safety measures

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Non-smoking
  • Air Conditioning

Property highlights

Main amenities

  • 8 smoke-free guestrooms
  • Daily housekeeping
  • Near the beach
  • Outdoor pool
  • Beach towels
  • Area shuttle

Feel at home

  • Private bathroom
  • Separate bathtub and shower
  • Premium TV channels
  • Television
  • Free toiletries
  • Garden

What’s around

  • ISimangaliso Wetland Park - 2 min walk
  • St. Lucia Estuary Beach - 35 min walk
  • Monzi Golf Club - 10.5 mi / 16.9 km
  • Mission Rocks Beach - 10.6 mi / 17.1 km
  • Lake St. Lucia Viewpoint - 12.4 mi / 20 km
  • Cape Vidal Lighthouse - 19.9 mi / 32 km

Book this property and collect stamps after your stay

Remember, collect 10 stamps, get 1 reward* night

Enter dates for 2 guests

Guests
  • Luxury Double or Twin Room
  • Luxury Double Room
  • Luxury Twin Room

What’s around

Landmarks

  • ISimangaliso Wetland Park - 2 min walk
  • St. Lucia Estuary Beach - 35 min walk
  • Monzi Golf Club - 10.5 mi / 16.9 km
  • Mission Rocks Beach - 10.6 mi / 17.1 km
  • Lake St. Lucia Viewpoint - 12.4 mi / 20 km
  • Cape Vidal Lighthouse - 19.9 mi / 32 km
  • Cape Vidal - 19.9 mi / 32 km

Getting around

  • King Shaka Intl. Airport (DUR) - 148 min drive
  • Area shuttle (surcharge)
  • Beach shuttle (surcharge)
map
See on map
71 Hornbill Street, St. Lucia, 3936, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

At a glance

Size

  • 8 rooms
  • Arranged over 1 floor

Arriving/leaving

  • Check-in time 2 PM-6 PM
  • Check-out time is 10 AM

Restrictions related to your trip

  • This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Special check-in instructions

To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property ahead of time using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 6 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property for check-in instructions.

Required at check-in

  • Credit card, debit card, or cash deposit required for incidental charges
  • Government-issued photo ID may be required

Children

  • One child (2 years old and younger) stays free when occupying the parent or guardian's room, using existing bedding

Pets

  • Pets not allowed

Internet

  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free WiFi in rooms

Parking

  • Free onsite self parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible parking on site

Other information

  • Smoke-free property
*See fees & policies for additional details or extra charges

At the property

Food and drink

  • Free full breakfast daily

Things to do

  • Beach shuttle (surcharge)
  • Beach towels
  • Number of outdoor pools - 1
  • Bicycle rentals on site
  • Mountain biking on site
  • Ecotours nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Surfing/bodyboarding nearby

Services

  • Tours/ticket assistance
  • Laundry facilities
  • Multilingual staff

Facilities

  • Year Built - 2010
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk
  • Garden
  • Terrace

Accessibility

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair-accessible parking

Languages Spoken

  • Afrikaans
  • English
  • Zulu

In the room

Home comforts

  • Air conditioning
  • Coffee/tea maker

Sleep well

  • Down comforter
  • Premium bedding
  • Tempur-Pedic mattress

Things to enjoy

  • Balcony or patio
  • Individually decorated

Freshen up

  • Private bathroom
  • Deep soaking bathtub
  • Designer toiletries
  • Hair dryer

Be entertained

  • 42-inch TV
  • Premium TV channels

Stay connected

  • Desk
  • Free WiFi

More

  • Daily housekeeping
  • In-room safe

Fees & policies

Optional extras

  • Area shuttle and beach shuttle service is offered for an extra charge

Pool, spa & gym (if applicable)Pay at property

You'll be asked to pay the following charges by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out:
  • Pool open 24-hours

Hygiene & cleanliness

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.

Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.

Social distancing measures are in place and periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff.

Policies

Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

Only registered guests are allowed in the guestrooms.

This property does not have elevators.

This property accepts credit cards.

Also known as

  • Lodge Afrique St. Lucia
  • Lodge Afrique St. Lucia
  • Lodge Afrique Guesthouse
  • Lodge Afrique Guesthouse St. Lucia
  • Lodge Afrique
  • Afrique St. Lucia

*See fees & policies for additional details or extra charges

FAQs

  • This property confirms that disinfectant is used to clean the property and social distancing measures are in place. Please note that this information has been provided by our partners.
  • Yes, there's free self parking.
  • Yes, there's an outdoor pool. Guests have 24-hour pool access.
  • Sorry, pets aren't allowed.
  • You can check in from 2 PM - 6 PM. Check-out time is 10 AM.
  • Yes. Nearby restaurants include Ocean Basket (7-min walk), Fisherman's (7-min walk), and Braza (7-min walk).
  • Have fun during the warmer months with activities such as mountain biking. Additional recreation nearby includes game drives, game viewing, and safari tours. Enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool or use the guesthouse's other amenities, which include a garden.
9,4.Exceptional.
  • 8,0.Very good

    Tranquil and delightfully quiet traditional yet modern appointed thatched chalets in neat tropical grounds. Wonderful planting. Lovely reception with cool drinks and lovely staff. Gorgeous and well lit interiors. No hot water on our first night which i meant to mention to the staff but forgot. Plenty in the morning however. Very nice breakfast. Check out is at 10am which is on the early side and there are strict warnings in the book saying that a charge of another night will be made if this is passed which seemed a little unfriendly.

    1 night romance trip, Jul 25, 2019

    Verified Ebookers guest review

  • 10,0.Exceptional

    Everything is first class. Staff, rooms, cleanliness, food, gardens. We have stopped there previously and cannot wait for our next visit.

    4 night trip, Feb 28, 2019

    Verified Expedia guest review

  • 10,0.Exceptional

    A lovely and luxurious oasis

    With individual, luxurious huts situated in a lush garden, Lodge Afrique felt like a luxurious resort at a rate I could afford. The breakfasts were delicious and the staff very helpful and friendly. It was a lovely oasis - I hardly wanted to leave to explore St. Lucia and the surrounding parks!

    Anna, 5 night trip with friends, May 20, 2018

    Verified Hotels.com guest review

  • 10,0.Exceptional

    Amazing place

    Will certainly be going back. The place is in an amazing place and the staff will go out of their way to help.

    Mark & Karen Dawson, 2 night family trip, Nov 10, 2017

    Verified Hotels.com guest review

  • 8,0.Very good

    Great!

    Lovely rondavels, great staff, excellent home baked treats for breakfast and much more. The cats - Mackenzie, Aiden and Lily - and tortoises were an added bonus. Beautifully maintained grounds and well decorated rooms. Would love to go back.

    Mac, Other trip, Feb 15, 2017

    Verified Expedia guest review

  • 10,0.Exceptional

    Nice and cozy hotel.

    Nice place with nice service. Room was very clean, manager - very attentive, breakfast - very good (usual english breakfast, fried eggs).

    Arkady, Romance trip, Jan 19, 2017

    Verified Hotels.com guest review

  • 4,0.Fair

    Very disappointing

    First off, I can see why most people would be pleased with this property. It is nice looking, secure, and walkable to town. The rooms are also pleasant. However, I had a significant problem with management during my stay. On Night #1: 1) The air conditioning remote was broken and therefore we had no A/C. We did not learn this until after the hotel office closed (around 7pm?). It was between 25C and 30C in our room all night. 2) There were bats flying around our room all night. Hitting us in the face, bouncing from wall to wall. Management's response after Night #1: 1) We fixed the air conditioning remote today, you will be fine. 2) "Oh wow...you are so lucky you had endangered bats flying around your room! No we can't change your room because we are full" Night #2 1) The air conditioning was "on" but blowing 25C to 30C air. It was set to 17C for 20 hours. No amount of playing with it would making anything cooler come out. It was hotter inside our room than outside our room. 2) The bats made a brief visit again. Management's response after Night #2: 1) "Oh you must be wrong. We checked the A/C while you were out to dinner and your room was ice cold" (I do not like being accused of lying. It was not ice cold for the entire 20 hours it was on. I find it quite hard to believe our room was ice cold for the two hours we were at dinner) 2) I didn't even have the heart to bring up the bats again. For $120 USD/night in South Africa, I expect an air conditioned & bat-free room.

    Other trip, Apr 17, 2017

    Verified Expedia guest review

  • 10,0.Exceptional

    Don't waste time looking further if you want to stay in St Lucia. The Manager,owner, gardens ,breakfast , rooms and staff are all fantastic and exceptional. If you want a big swimming pool this could be a problem

    KeithandLynda, 7 night trip, Jan 23, 2020

    Verified Expedia guest review

  • 10,0.Exceptional

    Mooie accomodatie, vriendelijk personeel en goed ontbijt

    2 night romance trip, Apr 2, 2019

    Verified Expedia guest review

  • 10,0.Exceptional

    Excellent team, superb chalets, great breakfast, just great

    2 night trip, Jan 21, 2019

    Verified Expedia guest review

See all 22 reviews