Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 room, 2 adults
1763 St-Denis, Montreal, QC, H2X 3K4, Canada
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
6,8
Good390 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
City Hotel
Rated top 36% in Montreal
  • 9.3Location
    • Great location
  • 4.1Room
    • Room needs to be improved
    • More comfort would be nice
    • AC needs updating
    • Could be quieter
  • 3.6Breakfast
    • Breakfast can be improved
  • 2.9Cleanliness
    • Could use a good cleaning

What guests say

  • AC needs updating
  • Could be quieter
  • Reception should be more attentive
  • Rooms could be cleaner

Narrow reviews:

390 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

6,0GoodCheck-in Dec 8, 2019
Smoky decent hotel
As soon as you enter the hotel cigarette smell invades your nose, then there is the lack of cleanliness of the bed sheets and the chairs but the bathroom was very clean and nice looking. The smoke odor was present inside the room but less than outside. The best part is the breakfast which was very pleasing and the coffee was great! Surprisingly the cigarette smell disappeared in the morning probably because of a.c that was turned on.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Feb 4, 2020
The blankets are old and don’t make it look nice the blankets looks more dirty
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Jan 25, 2020
The room was very smelly. U can’t handle that smell. I opened window for some time. Heating was not working properly. It was clean room and the location is fantastic and that is the only good thing in that.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Jan 4, 2020
Disgusting place, the location is great, ok for just a night stay, fingernails on the floor, breakfast option muffin and croissant, reservation indicated to include 2 rooms 2 beds from desk charged us an extra $20 canadian for a 2 bedroom which he pocketed, he wanted it in cash, its ok to crash for night
NexsaidaROca1 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 28, 2019
Great location, very friendly staff I can only recommend the place
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Nov 11, 2019
Pleasantly surprised. My main concern from reading old reviews was that there may be bed bugs. And that wasn't an issue at all. It was quaint, cute and cozy. Clean except the stairwell did smell of smoke however it's not the hotel's fault that visitors choose to smoke in their rooms. The breakfast in the morning was only croissants, muffins, coffee and juice. The croissants and muffins were stale. Don't rely on it being a big breakfast. It's located in a perfect location. Staff weren't anything special but they were present at the desk at all times if you had any questions. Soap and shampoo was kinda lame so I bought my own. was very cold outside and heating was perfect. Overall I was happy with it.
Monty3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Nov 15, 2019
Close to entertainment. Reasonable place for the price. Clean
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Nov 15, 2019
The property was located very close to the entrainment district. But the property had a very bad smell. The bedding also smelled bad. There were red ants in the bathroom. There were ants crawling all over the food at breakfast time. Continental breakfast only included croissants and muffins with coffee or tea. There was no parking at the hotel. Which was not mentioned in the listing. Had to park at a public parking two blocks away for $ 17 per night. The staff was pretty nice.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4,0FairCheck-in Nov 14, 2019
There was nothing unique abt the property. We couldnt sleep at nite because someone was constantly theowing snowballs at the window. And we could feel the springs on the bed sheets were not washed good thing we took extra sheets. Service was not good.
Unknown1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 30, 2019
Location, convenient to subway, shops , restaurants & China Town... Will return...!!!
5 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Nov 2, 2019
Old hotel but nicely maintained. Small room but perfect location for nightlife
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Oct 5, 2019
It's in an amazing location for the price. Older place and consideing the star rating. You have to come in with a certain expectation.
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Sep 26, 2019
Good location along Rue St Denis with quick access to bars and restaurants, but it’s next door to a strip club so expect music through the walls until 3am, especially during weekends. The hotel smells of smoke and weed and the bed covers left me itching until I discarded them. Wifi and TV worked so that’s a plus. Staff were pretty dismissive.
5 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 27, 2019
Merci Hotel Quartier Latin !
Very pleased! Quartier Latin, is in the heart of Montreal, which makes the location very convenient ! It was clean, comfortable, friendly ! I'll be coming back to this hotel again ! I simply loved the place ! Bravo !
Clinton7 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Sep 20, 2019
Was vary hot would not turn ac on and rude when asked to turn on would never stay there again
Shawn3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Sep 14, 2019
Ok
It was ok
2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4,0FairCheck-in Sep 10, 2019
If you can, don’t stay there! Filthy, outdated place. Only one good thing- location. One star motel that charging you as at least 3 star hotel!
Alexander2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Aug 31, 2019
It was a good weekend and a nice place
Jorge2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
2,0PoorCheck-in Aug 28, 2019
The room was found to be filthy dirty. I don't know who will stay at this place and it is certainly for a family. -
Raj1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Aug 20, 2019
Staff are very friendly. They accommodated our requests eagerly.
JZ2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Aug 15, 2019
There was no iron and the hair dryer didn't work. They did change the towels and vacuumed once a day.The location was great. Never had an issue with the staff but I know some people did ! If you need a cheap place to crash it is fine.
5 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Aug 13, 2019
The staff was good . The view was bad. But for a2 star hotel it was fine.
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Aug 8, 2019
Great locations minutes from everywhere you want to be in Montreal! I’d definitely stay here again!
3 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 1, 2019
Quiet sleep in the back of the hotel. Water pressure in the shower is good. Towels are old, but the room is cleaned every day.
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 4, 2019
Our room was upgraded from a one bed to a two bed room which a nice surprise
1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Aug 2, 2019
Location was good room was very small and did not have air conditioning like it said or a fan so room was very hot
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Jul 20, 2019
It is located close to old Montreal, close to metro and alive city at the weekend. It worth with its price but do not count on the breakfast. Its wife was disconnected after midnight of last day. They mentioned there had a difficulty,
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Jul 24, 2019
The price was a great deal. I just wish the hotel was more clean.
Hanna1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
2,0PoorCheck-in Jul 22, 2019
A nightmare already file à complaint
3 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4,0FairCheck-in Jul 17, 2019
We were most disappointed that there was no lift for our heavy baggage (normal airline weight of kg 23), no air conditioning until we requested and then it only came on when we returned after dinner and even then it was cooler outside in the corridor than inside our room. The plumbing was also bad as the toilet got blocked more than once. Without a lift this hotel is in a good position downtown and would be more suitable for younger backpackers.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
2,0PoorCheck-in Jul 19, 2019
Although the location was good, I was really disgusted about the cleanliness of the hotel in total. The lobby smells like weed and cigarette which we thought was a non smoking hotel. The receptionist was not smiling. He just ask about our name and reservation then gave us the basement room. When we enter the room the smell gets so worse. The window was open, the air condition was so low, and the bed itself stinks like they never laundry it. AND WORST PART IS WE FOUND BUGS IN THE BED. That was so unacceptable. We immediately leave and look for a different hotel.
Jzllczrn1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
2,0PoorCheck-in Jul 18, 2019
The man in the restaurant is so rude and he poured my coffee!! I didn’t fight with him because I don’t wanna waste my time and energy. Anyway the hotel is not good. And it’s really smelly bad in the room.
1 night business trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Jul 12, 2019
In the heart of the Latin Quarter Easy to locate and close to restaurants
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Jul 7, 2019
No a/c during the day..but great location. The street is full of great restaurants
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Jul 3, 2019
No parking at motel $17 paid for parking near motel ,
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Jun 28, 2019
Right in the center of the action on Rue St. Denis. Only drawback, our window had a view of an airshaft.
Colleen6 night romance trip
Verified Travelocity guest review
4,0FairCheck-in Jun 21, 2019
Overpriced Hostel
Don't get me wrong this is an OK Hostel. But at the price point its at least double what I'd expect to pay.
Gary1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Jun 13, 2019
Good location, close to ctrain and bus stop. 20 minute walk to old montreal and old port
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Jun 7, 2019
Good location, small room, few amenities, WiFi kept dropping.
David4 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4,0FairCheck-in May 31, 2019
Nothing unique. The prooerty is outdated... needs renovation and improvement in the breakfast
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in May 25, 2019
This hotel is good for 1-3 nights. Its perfect who come from US for not long stay. Hotel is very average thou, but good.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
2,0PoorCheck-in May 24, 2019
Location was great No lift to fourth floor Breakfast was too simple
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
2,0PoorCheck-in May 16, 2019
This hotel wasn’t good in general They must be better in the quality of service, cleanliness of room/hotel , noise, smell The personal service was good and the hotel location too.
Alfreda3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in May 12, 2019
The area was great! Lots of restaurants and bars. Hotel was quiet at night. Good hotel for the price.
K2 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Apr 25, 2019
Hotel Quartier Latin in Montreal is centrally located on St Denis street - it's about a 3 minute walk from the bus stop that takes you to the airport ($10 CAD), close to coffee shops, a plethora of restaurants and movie threater, and about a 20 minute walk to Old Montreal.. I checked in about 3 hours prior to my time, which was very nice. This is a classic European, if you will - type of hotel, and for Americans you'd get the feeling of a dormitory. Thursday afternoon the hotel's hallways permeated with the smell of smoke - for anyone sensitive to this, I would skip this hotel. My single occupancy room was garden level - it reeked of cigarette smoke smell. Although my room was non-smoking, as were many others - because of central air vents the smells of smoke would blast into rooms and hallways when the heat was on. I opened my window (after fixing it up a bit) and allowed the room to air out for the rest of the day, and all through the night. This worked - however, the carpeting and curtains had accumulated the smell of smoke, and there is no way to undo this without washing the curtains. The hotel is clean, as was my room, and the private bathroom. There was a bit of mildew on my curtain, though the tub and sink, etc., were cleaned. 4 towels - 2 large, and 2 washcloths, a shower cap, a hand soap, and a single use shampoo/conditioner. The Wi-Fi is spotty to non-existent. The free breakfast is coffee, juices, croissants, and muffins. Great for a single traveler.
Klud3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4,0FairCheck-in Apr 25, 2019
The no smoking signs were prominently displayed, yet everything smelled of cigarette smoke. The room furnishings were dilapidated and the decor was atrocious. Other than that, good location next to the strip club.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4,0FairCheck-in Apr 19, 2019
Bed sheets had stains and when asked for new ones, those bed sheets were dirty as well
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Apr 19, 2019
The only thing that was unique about the property and what we liked was the Location of the property. If you are looking for a location which is right in the middle of all the happening night life then this is the right property. The street on which this property is, is alive and had a great night life until about 2 to 3 Am atleast. But the property itself is not that great and does not have decent amenities, please make sure to carry your own (Food, Snacks, toiletries etc.). Over all for the price of seventy or eighty cad, it is not a bad deal.
2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Apr 9, 2019
Great location! High concentration of restaurants and brewpubs nearby. Clean, great wifi service.
6 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 8, 2019
Has everything you need plus Old World charm features. Very cooperative desk personnel. Excellent location.
karen3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews