Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in New York, New York, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
851 8th Ave, New York, NY, 10019, United States of America
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8,4
Very good2 040 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
City Hotel
Rated top 3% in New York
  • 9.7Location
    • Wonderful sightseeing
    • Great location
  • 9.3WiFi
    • Good internet service
  • 8.6Service
    • Fantastic service
  • 7.1Breakfast
    • Tasty breakfast
Show more

What guests say

  • Wonderful sightseeing
  • Comfortable beds
  • Hotel buildings could use some improvement
  • Bathroom could be optimized

Narrow reviews:

2 040 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

6,0GoodCheck-in Feb 6, 2019
Noisy
Very noisy at night, also there are no availible laundry facilities - this is one of the main reasons I book Hampton inn.
Red Rock1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 11, 2020
Clean but very tired. Excellent sized rooms. Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff
Catoline5 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Mar 6, 2020
Within walking distance to Times Square, Broadway and other popular attractions
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 10, 2020
A block away from broadway. Easy to access. Breakfast is a plus
Cesar3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Mar 12, 2020
Perfect location for broadway shows. Love having a free breakfast
3 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 10, 2020
I recommend this place. The price is reasonable with free breakfast and free parking
Gisela1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 7, 2020
It wasn’t as loud as I expected for NYC, breakfast was great and convenient, and I especially appreciated that we could drop off our luggage before we checked in. Would definitely stay here again!
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Mar 6, 2020
The location was good, 2 locks to Times Square, half block to Wicked, while block away from noise. Continental breakfast was good, busy but adequate space. For the price, a slightly cleaner than average hotel. Would go again. Recommend high floor with street view.
ColdYXE4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 4, 2020
Love the location! Definitely not far from anything.
5 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 11, 2020
Great location, good breakfast, spacious room, good value
2 night romance trip
Verified Lastminute guest review
4,0FairCheck-in Mar 5, 2020
The front of the hotel was always dirty, especially the floors. The cleaners in the lobby were always loud and talking to each other, and the breakfast area wasn't cleaned well. The room maids were lovely, but the elevator rugs were not vacuumed in four days.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 4, 2020
I would stay again.
Very convenient location. No resort fees. Free breakfast was good enough.
Keiko2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4,0FairCheck-in Mar 2, 2020
Worst stay best located
Old and not clean at all. The breakfast restorant is the worst I ever had.
Abdulrahman3 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Mar 2, 2020
Great hotel, not far from Times Square, good breakfast, clean room, nice staff
KS2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4,0FairCheck-in Mar 4, 2020
All we heard was the elevator all night long. The sheets were terrible. I was very disappointed
Wendy3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
Overall the Hotel, Services, Employees, Amenities, location, buffet breakfast was Excellent. The only thing was the room have a constant noise, maybe cause is next to electrical room. Out of that, we loved and we go back to stay again.
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Mar 1, 2020
Central location. Convenient Transportation. Walk to the theater
DMO3612 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 23, 2020
Fantastic location. Was on business in Manhattan, and access to subway was easy. A couple blocks off Broadway so it's not insanely noisy at night. Staff were friendly and hard-working. Room was clean. Internet was decently fast. TVs in rooms desperately need upgrades, and overall the carpets in the rooms and hallways are pretty gross and worn-out. A number of the vending machines were out of stock, or simply not working. There's also no proper electrical plugs near the beds, so you won't be able to plug your phone in unless you want to crawl under the bed to find the power bar and have a REALLY long usb cable.
Raymond5 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 20, 2020
I always stay in this hotel when visiting New York
Lynne1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 19, 2020
The breakfast was very good although very busy on the weekend. The location is excellent and the price reasonable.
Lisa4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 19, 2020
Lovely stay at the hotel
Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the room was really clean and the service was great. The location is ideal for exploring the best of Manhattan. The breakfast provided has a lot of options, but as my partner is vegetarian we felt there wasn’t too much on offer for her. The breakfast area is adequate and does get extremely busy. Overall we really enjoyed our stay! We defo recommend it to anyone thinking of it as an option
Kiran7 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 21, 2020
Rooms wery very large for NYC & value. Location was great .
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 19, 2020
Thanks
We had a great stay! It is in a great location. It is an older building, but the staff was kind and helpful. We had a great stay!
Hannah3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 22, 2020
Very pleasant staff and good over all customer service.
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 8, 2020
Great location .Close to a few subway stations, lots of eating options on the doorstep, close enough to walk to times square but far enough you're not in the hustle and bustle. Also close to Central Park. Staff are very friendly and do a great job. Breakfast is basic, but plentiful, and sets you up for the day . Overall ,excellent value for money
Jemma7 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 10, 2019
Nice staff and close to most places to visit. This hotel in close to Times Square and other accessible aread
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 11, 2020
I loved the location! The breakfast in the morning was delicious and a great way to start our busy days. Staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful, especially Marilyn at the front desk!!
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
5 min walk to Times Square 10min to Central Park great position Breakfast is good and varied hot and cold great set you up for the day cases were looked after both ways because we had an early arrival and a late departure . Staff were helpful Breakfast room did get a little packed but it was ok . All in all 10/10 will come again
Glenn3 night romance trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 18, 2020
Close to everything we needed in the city. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and comfy bed.
Cynthia1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 10, 2020
Good Place - good location
Good location. Great, friendly staff. Jam-packed free breakfast.... OK.
TERRENCE4 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 16, 2020
Grandma, Grandpa and Grandson
We were all pleased with our stay. Convenient to lots of stuff. Clean. The maintenance showed the hotel is a little older. Good breakfast, although another waffle maker would cut down on 7 person wait. All-in-all we were satisfied.
1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 8, 2020
everything was good, staff was friendly.
Ryan4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 6, 2020
Great touch by having free cookies in the lobby and complimentary coffee and breakfast
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 2, 2020
Very comfortable in a great location. Small details were lacking, like coat hooks in the room. No soft close on bedroom doors means constant door slamming from other rooms at all hours. The free breakfast is good considering the price & location of the hotel however elements do run out in the last hour of service
5 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 8, 2020
Nice, clean, great location. Near tons of great restaurants, subway, Times Square, MOMA. Decent breakfast. Helpful staff. Only issue was water temperature in the shower, which changed from scalding to lukewarm and back for no reason.
Micchio3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 9, 2020
The staff was very friendly & helpful. I was able to check into my room about 1.5 hours earlier than scheduled...which was excellent! The breakfast had a good variety of food available and was very fresh.
1 night romance trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 6, 2020
Perfect location; great value
The hotel was perfect for us. Within walking distance of Times Sq., subways, buses, Central Park, The Gershwin, etc. The breakfast, while crowded, was quite sufficient. Workout room ok (though some settings on some equipment needs repair. Price was fair. Room was huge compared to most. All around ideal for wife and I.
Jeffrey4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 9, 2020
The lobby and room was fine except that I reserved a king bed and only got 2 queens. However the breakfast area was dirty at 6 am when it opened up for the day. The garbage was full and dirty can and floor and table tops were not clean. The utensils were not filled up , no forks . Hot breakfast was not very appetizing . Best thing was coffee and toast .
Mary1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 6, 2020
I am so very glad we stayed at this hotel, it was phenomenal!!! Staff were all very friendly and helpful and always looking for a way to help. Breakfast was super!! Rooms are very big and comfy. This property is so very close to everything and is easy to get to. Has everything you need right around it from a CVS to a 7-11 and more restaurants than I could count.
ShaunPritchard3 night family trip
Verified Travelocity guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 7, 2020
Very close to everything but not in the middle of it
JP1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 3, 2020
This property is in a great location. Walkable distance to Times Square and Theater district. For the avid walker, Rockefeller Center is doable as well. Staff was friendly and hotel was clean. Breakfast consisted of assorted cereals, pastries, bread for toast, potatoes, omelets, yogurt, juices, fruit, etc. Breakfast area was crowded but they did their best at keeping everything stocked. Coffee, tea and cocoa was available 24/7.
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Feb 6, 2020
Staff was great, room was clean and ample. Staff went out of the way to be kind. It was a great stay.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 5, 2020
Great rooms. Very spacious for nyc hotel. Close to Times Square, Broadway/Theaters. Will stay again
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Feb 2, 2020
It’s hard to find clean, safe hotel rooms in midtown. This one was okay. Rooms were big and clean. Staff was okay. But I hate that you don’t know how much it costs on Expedia so you are comparing apples and bananas.
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 4, 2020
Safe & family friendly
My 19 yr old daughter and I flew in from florida to see a broadway play. Safe area. VERY FRIENDLY hotel. Complimentary breakfast was great. Walking distance to town square. Family friendly
Sherry1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 23, 2020
Good value and great location
I've stayed here multiple times, and the experience is always consistent. The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfy and a reasonable size (especially for NYC), and the location is great for Midtown. The breakfast is generally good, and is a standard Hampton spread. There was a slightly more limited choice this time, with only a couple of hot options (e.g. breakfast potatoes, but no meats?)
Daniel3 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 20, 2020
Great place to stay, location was great, Breakfast was adequate and the drink station available all day was great.
L.7 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10,0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 30, 2020
Great location! Great service and great breakfast!!! Everything you need for a great stay in NYC!
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8,0Very goodCheck-in Jan 25, 2020
Very convenient and breakfast in the morning. Everyone was cordial and helpful
abdul2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6,0GoodCheck-in Jan 28, 2020
Bed linens were stained, carpet not vacuumed and mildew in the shower. The MOD was amazing she listened, apologized and recovered the situation.
JC1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews